Music // No.3 // Concerts

I bloody love concerts. There is something about the freedom you experience at a concert that makes them almost addictive. You can just let yourself go in the deafening music, and no one really cares what you look like or how you are dancing (which is great in my case as I dance like a grandma who has had too many gin and tonics). I have been to a fair few concerts over the past 8 years, and each time I have absolutely loved it, seeing one of my favourite bands/artists who I have listened to for years right there in front of me is incredible. This post is basically going to be a list of which artists I have seen live and my favourite song from each of them.

Two Door Cinema Club

I went to see TDCC when I was 14 with my friends from school, this was the first concert I went to without my parents and it was INCREDIBLE! I was a huge TDCC fan and their 2012 album ‘Beacon’ had just been released and they did a UK tour to celebrate.

(Swim Deep // Honey & Bastille // Of The Night)

Peace

This is the first concert where I discovered moshpits/moshing, I came away from this concert covered in bruises but it was completely worth it.

Franz Ferdinand

To this day Franz Ferdinand is the best concert I have ever been to, they have been making music for over 14 years and they really know how to put on a show. Having to pick one song out of their vast collection was pretty much impossible but here we go. If you haven’t listened to Franz Ferdinand’s music aside from ‘Take Me Out’ then you are missing out.

The Wombats

The Wombats are one of my favourite bands of all time and for the release of their 2015 album ‘Glitterbug’ I went to see them perform twice on the same tour. Because it was impossible for me to pick only one favourite song by The Wombats, I’ve put a link to a video for my favourite album (This Modern Glitch). I also would highly recommend listening to their newest album ‘Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life’.

La Roux

This gig was so fun! La Roux is the artist for songs such as ‘Bulletproof’ and ‘In For The Kill’ which were incredible to see live. This is the one show which I have been to where literally everyone was dancing and singing along. Whist I don’t normally listen to this genre of music La Roux is a exception.

Chesney Hawkes

I saw Chesney Hawkes play in the back of a lorry at motor car event at Santa Pod, and it was absolutely amazing; he performed a lot of covers as well as his number one hit.

The Doors Alive

(The Doors tribute band)

The Smyths

(The Smiths tribute band)

Ed Sheeran

I have been lucky enough to see Ed Sheeran on both his ‘×’ and his ‘÷’ tours, and both times his down-to-earth personality and pure talent shone through. With just his own voice, guitar and loop pedal, Ed Sheeran commands the attention of the entire arena and it is utterly breathtaking.

(Jamie Lawson & Saint Raymond and then in 2018 Anne Marie)

The Kooks

Another one of my all time favourite bands, I saw them live on their 2014 ‘Listen’ tour. Many people know The Kooks from the songs on their ‘Inside In / Inside Out’ album, such as Seaside, She Moves In Her Own Way’ and Naive and when they released the ‘Listen’ album I instantly fell in love and now I prefer it over the first album.

(BONES // PRETTY WASTE)

Anteros

I saw this dream pop band opening for Two door Cinema Club in Liverpool and they were awesome! Unfortunately I had to leave the concert early as I got pick-pocketed lol

The Hoosiers

In order to celebrate the 10th anniversary of their ‘Trick To Life’ album (their best album in my opinion) The Hoosiers went on a UK tour which stopped off at Chester, as soon as I found out The Hoosiers were coming to Chester I had to buy tickets. I actually saw them twice within a month as they also performed at Chester Student Union before I saw them in the Live Rooms.

 

It was surprisingly difficult to pick just one song from each artist so here are some honorable mentions (I know I’m cheating)

  • The Dark Of The Matinee // Franz Ferdinand
  • Tropical Chancer // La Roux
  • Out Of My Head // The Wombats
  • Up To No Good // The Hoosiers
  • Forgive & Forget // The Kooks
  • Eraser // Ed Sheeran

Rhian.

p.s. Technically the first concert I went to was a Girls Aloud concert that my parents took me to, I don’t have many memories of it but I’m sure it was amazing.

Leave a comment